A very literary weekend

12986769_10209926130696347_182966860_o.jpgLast weekend, I had almost no work to do (I am now in holidays ! Or should I say “revision week”…) so I decided it was time to finally finish Gretchen Rubin’s book, “Happier at Home“, that I had started a few weeks ago. Even though it was interesting, not that long nor hard to read, I had trouble finishing it because of the last papers to hand in before the holidays. They had indeed kept me very busy.

However, from Friday afternoon to Monday afternoon, I was free from work and (important) obligations. So I decided to just grant myself some relaxing literary time. Rubin’s book is about productivity, happiness and habits. I love this author and have already read several books of her on the same topic (“The happiness project” and “Better than Before“). Even though they can sometimes overlap as she draws from her own personal life, I still find her book to be a great source of inspiration and motivation. And I especially love the structure she use (1 chapter = 1 month of the year within which she tries implementing several new habits). It was the perfect book to finish at the start of my weekend as it left me galvanized and full of new ideas.

As soon as I was done with it, I was still feeling like lying in bed in my pjs with a comfy blanket and tea. I was eager to start another book. So I took a look at my bookshelf and chose the one my boyfriend bought me as a surprise. He knows I love Camilla Lackberg’s thrillers, so one day he came home with this very short spin-off of one of her character that he had found in a thrift bookstore called “Cyanure”. It was perfect because I like to alternate different genre when I’m reading, which means that if I’m done reading a self-help book, I’ll usually go for a novel for my next book. So I did. I was eager to dive into a fictional world of intertwined stories, characters and secrets.

As I mentioned above, it was very short (around 150 pages), so I devoured it in about 2 hours. Despite having read some bad comments about it, I was agreeably surprised. I personally thought it was good. It made me think about Agatha Christie’s “And then there were none” and “The crime of the Orient Express“. Also, the fact that the action only takes place in one house, with the characters unable to leave it because of a thunderstorm (how convenient) adds to the suspense ! And the end is… a great plot twist. But I’m not going to say more !

Anyway, again, I needed to choose another book to read after this one. It is kind of a ritual : as soon as I am done reading a book, I like to pick what the next one is going to be even though I do not start it right away. I just like the idea of having this new story waiting for me.

So, foreseeing the free time of the coming holidays, I decided to tackle a much bigger novel : Joel Dicker’s “La vérité sur l’affaire Harry Quebert” (The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair). It’s 664 page long. That should keep me going for a while. I started it on Monday while going to school, and am already page 200 ! So far so good, so I’ll let you know what I think about it once I’m done with it.

What about you, what are the last book(s) you’ve read ?

Leave a Reply

