Homemade oil free crispy potato fries

Good afternoon everyone ! It has been some time since I have posted an article about food, so I thought I would remedy that. It is not a complex recipe that is going to blow your mind though, I have to be honest. It’s just that for the last couple of days, I’ve been obsessed with homemade potato fries, so I thought I’d share with you how I make them, and what I eat them with.

IMG_8785

Now, fun fact time : I’ve always avoided potatoes when growing because I did not really like them except when cooked as mash. My mother used to steam them, which I thought was tasteless, or she would fry them in an oil that had a much too strong taste. And don’t get me started on those frozen fries or the ones from fast food chains… Anyway, every time I had the occasion to swap potatoes for rice or pasta, I did.

However, when I started getting into YouTube and stumbled upon new channels focused on food, recipes, veganism, health etc, I realized that a lot of my favorite Youtubers were cooking their potatoes the same way : with their oven, and without oil. So I thought I’d give it a go, and I was not disappointed.

 

IMG_8781.jpg

Look at this crispiness ! Isn’t it drool worthy ? The recipe is pretty simple, you just need to make sure you have some time because they have to cook for about 40 minutes.

My favorite sauces to eat my potato wedges with are tomato sauce (I bought one with basil and chopped black olives in it… so delicious !), salsa (but be careful of the ones with too much added salt in it) and guacamole, which must be homemade of course ! But more on than in a later post. By the way, I tend not to add salt on my potatoes because the spices usually are enough, and the sauces always bring some extra flavoring too. In addition, no need to use oil on them : they get crispy by themselves.

I also really like ketchup, however I feel like there’s a lot of sugar in it, and I’m the kind of girl who eats (almost) as much sauce as potatoes (true story), so I figured it was maybe not the best option for me ; maybe just one in a while. When I took those pictures  yesterday, I did not have my olive and tomato sauce, so I just whipped one (recipe down below).

Now that your wedges are cooked and your sauces ready, you can enjoy them. I usually eat them with a side of greens, either fresh salad with a drizzle of lemon juice, or green beans.

For the wedges :

  1. Take your potatoes, and wash them. I like to keep the skin because it makes them even crispier !
  2. Cut them into wedges
  3. Align on a baking tray
  4. Sprinkle your favorite spices on it. I usually use garlic power, basil, pepper and curry or cayenne pepper. But thyme, rosemary, cumin etc will do the trick too !
  5. Cook for about 40 minutes, and if your baking tray is kinda small, flip them half through to allow each side to be perfectly cooked.
  6. Let them cool for a minute, and serve them with some sauces ! Enjoy !

For the tomato sauce :

  1. Mix one tablespoon of tomato paste with 6-7 tablespoon of canned tomato juice
  2. Season it with pepper, basil
  3. Add a dash of soy cream (optional, it changes a bit the texture to make it creamier)

IMG_8782

IMG_8788.jpg

Leave a Reply

