Vegan barley & cacao pancakes tower (oil free & sugar free !)

Good morning guys ! Summer in Paris can be really sad and disappointing : the grey sky, the cold wind and of course… rain. So I decided to cheer me up my swapping my daily morning oats with some cacao pancakes. Yummy ! The best part is that they are vegan, oil free and sugar free. Sounds impossible, I know, but trust me, these are the most basic pancakes ever : so quick to make, with only four ingredients.

IMG_8847

IMG_8851

Ingredients :

  • 1 cup of barley flour
  • 2 tablespoons of raw cacao powder
  • 1 cup of sugar free soy milk (but feel free to use rice milk, oat milk…)
  • 2 tablespoons of baking powder

Instructions :

  1. In a bowl, mix the dry ingredients
  2. Add the milk progressively and stir the mixture
  3. Heat a non stick pan on a medium heat and pour the mixture to form pancakes
  4. Flip when the edges start to cook and to be bubbly
  5. Serve hot or cold, with loads of toppings !

The key to not using any oil falls down to two elements : the quality of your pan and the temperature you use to cook the pancakes. On a medium heat, they’ll be perfectly cook without burning and therefore the batter won’t stick to your pan when you’re trying to flip your pancake.

IMG_8884

Now it’s topping time ! Anything works with pancakes, let’s be honest. I love pouring coconut cream, or peanut butter on them when I feel like some extra deliciousness, but this morning I was craving more fruity pancakes. So I heated a small bowl of frozen raspberries and layered the mixture between each pancake. Then I topped my tower with the rest of the raspberries, passion fruit and sesame seeds, with a side of fresh mango, and I topped my boyfriend’s with oats and nuts.

I was really happy with the result because they were so light and really fluffy because I went kind of hardcore on the baking powder (I used a whole packet, 11g). It paid off !

NB : the fruit really brought some sweetness to the pancakes, and I usually do not like to add sugar in my recipes, even organic coconut sugar, agave or maple syrup, if it is not necessary. However, if you want to eat them plain or with something less sweet, you might be a bit surprised with their taste because the cacao powder tastes a bit bitter when you’re not used to it. So feel free to add a natural sweetener of your choice if you’re more of a sweet tooth that I am.

IMG_8904IMG_8919

Leave a Reply

