My June’s breakfast staples

Good morning guys ! Today, no recipe, but I’m still writing about food (yay!) and more specifically breakfast food (arguably the best one).

I know that some of you probably do not have time to make their breakfast in the morning because they’re working / always late / can’t be bothered to / buy something on the way out etc, but trust me, eating breakfast is important. Literally, it is a meal designed to help you “break the fast” after your night’s sleep. It is therefore important to eat, but also to eat properly and something healthy.

Here are my go-to ingredients of the moment :

  • Weetabix
  • 5 cereal oats
  • A gluten free muesli
  • 100% sugar free puffed wheat

IMG_8944

I like to use weetabix or oats because it gives consistence to your breakfast as it swells once in your milk. If you want an even thicker texture, you can even pour some milk on your oats the night before and put it in the fridge to make overnight oats. Add chia seeds too for a pudding-like consistency.

Those two products are amazing because not only they make you feel full and satisfied, they’re also packed with fiber. In addition, they are filled with healthy ingredients : the weetabix are made of wheat and a dash of sugar while the oats are made of 100% organic cereals, without anything added ! And finally, they are very cheap.

IMG_8937

For my toppings, I use what I like to call “lighter cereals” because if I ate them on their own, I could eat the entire pack without feeling particularly satisfied. I’m sure you know what I mean ! So my go-to of the moment are a mix of gluten free goji and grains muesli and puffed wheat.

I like the puffed wheat because again, it is 100% wheat – no sugar, no salt etc and it was around 2€ for 200g, which lasts around a week for my boyfriend and I so it is very cheap compared to puffed quinoa for instance which is like 6-8€. In addition, it adds so much crunch to the cereals… Yummy !

Then I discovered the Lima muesli the other day and it is really good. It was kind of cheap too (3-4€), and again 100% natural organic ingredients. It is made of goji berries, sultanas, dried apricots, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, soya flakes, rice flakes, puffed rice and amaranth. I do not really care about it being gluten free because I’m not intolerant to it, but it was the best products I could find that matched all my criteria. The dried fruit add a sweet taste while the puffed cereals bring some crunch… All that one can ask for when eating cereals !

IMG_8942

I like to mix different ingredients together so that I can vary a bit the composition every day, but the base is the same. I combine a thicker base of cereals (usually around 80-100g of oats and/or weetabix depending on how hungry I am) with fresh fruits (these days I’m into mangoes and raspberries, but I use apples when I don’t have any mangoes left). Then I add my lighter cereals and I pour some plant-based milk (I go with sugar free soy milk because it’s the cheapest one) and usually add a dash of cinnamon or vanilla extract. And voilà ! Your quick and healthy breakfast is ready.

NB : you might not find the Lima muesli everywhere – I personally found it in a shop called Les Nouveaux Robinson. However I’m sure you can find something like it. As for the rest of the products, you should be able to find them pretty easily because they are breakfast staples.

IMG_8268.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

